Countdown To Feb 1, 2014; Nigeria Catch Wild Card “FEVER”

Nigeria and 14 other Teams compete for the 4 wild card slots for Spain 2014

Nigeria and 14 other Teams compete for the 4 wild card slots for Spain 2014

The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) remains upbeat Nigeria will bag one of the four wild card slot and compete at the 2014 Men’s FIBA World Cup to be hosted by Spain. Nigeria’s D’Tigers failed to book their place in the World Cup finals after placing a distant seventh at the 27th FIBA Africa Championship held in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. Angola, Egypt and Senegal emerged first, second and third respectively to pick the three slots reserved for Africa at the finals.

And with the FIBA rule which reserves four wild cards for teams or countries, who could not make it at the qualifiers, the NBBF and 14 national teams from across four FIBA zones submitted their application on October 30 to meet FIBA deadline for consideration

The 15 applicants are national teams that participated in their respective 2013 continental championships, which are qualifying tournament for FIBA’s flagship event in Spain next year (30 August-14 September 2014).

The countries include Nigeria (Africa); Brazil, Canada and Venezuela (Americas); China and Qatar (Asia) and Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Poland, Russia and Turkey (Europe).

FIBA will reveal which countries will receive the four wild cards at its Central Board meeting on the weekend of 1-2 February 2014 in Barcelona, Spain.

The draw for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup will then take place the following day, February 3, 2014.

No more than three national teams from one FIBA Zone can receive the wild cards. FIBA’s Central Board could decide to shorten the list of candidates bidding for the four wild cards at its next meeting in Buenos Aires, Argentina on the weekend of 23-24 November 2013.

The four recipients of the wild cards will complete the 24-team field for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup. Here are the 20 national teams that have already booked their place for Spain 2014.

Host Country: Spain, Olympic Champion: USA, teams from Africa: Angola, Egypt and Senegal, teams from Americas: Mexico, Puerto Rico, Argentina and Dominican Republic, teams from Asia: Iran, Philippines and Korea, teams from Europe: France, Lithuania, Croatia, Slovenia, Ukraine and Serbiaand teams from Oceania: Australia and New Zealand.



Leave a Reply