Phoenix Wins 2014 WNBA Title

The Phoenix Mercury proved to be one of the best teams in history with their league-record 29 wins in the regular season, and Friday, they capped off their historic season with a WNBA title.

Candice Dupree recorded 24 points and six assists in Game 3 to lead the Mercury to an 87-82 win over the Chicago Sky at UIC Pavilion to win their third league title in franchise history. Dupree was drafted by Phoenix’s opponent, Chicago, in 2006 before she was traded to the Mercury in 2010.

”Candice has probably been overlooked her whole career on whatever team she has played on,” Diana Taurasi said, according to ”I’ve never played with someone that I’m so confident going into a game with. You always know she’s going to be able to play.”

Taurasi was named the Finals MVP, averaging 20.3 points and 6.3 assists per game in the series. This is her second time earning this crown, as she did the same after Phoenix won the 2009 title.

”We have the best player in the world, Diana Taurasi,” Phoenix coach Sandy Brondello said, according to ”When you put the ball in her hands at crunch time, she makes it happen.”

Chicago’s Allie Quigley made a floater with 33.1 seconds remaining to tie the game at 81, but that was as close as the Sky would get to force a Game 4. Taurasi scored 14 of her 24 points in the fourth quarter to help the Mercury pull away, even without starting center Brittney Griner, who was out because of surgery.

The Sky was the first team in league history to make the WNBA Finals with a losing record in the regular season. Elena Delle Donne led the team in Game 3 with 23 points and five rebounds, while Sylvia Fowles led the series, averaging 14.3 points and eight rebounds per game.  

”It stings right now. It’s sad we didn’t have the showing we wanted,” Sky coach Pokey Chatman said, according to ”I want to credit a team that when they had a man down their All-Star players stepped up.”

Leave a Reply